where do you inject your insulin makes all the difference.

October 26, 2012
WHERE TO INJECT YOUR INSULIN TO SAVE YOUR FEET FROM AMPUTATION.
Sorry for the disappearing pictures. Don’t know what happened. Will work to make it right.
Again, I want to stress. This blog is not selling anything. It’s information that I believe can save my fellow diabetics from foot amputation or worse. Read my first blog. If you follow the advice, like me, you will see a dramatic improvement in your feet. As well as your overall health.
As we diabetics know, injecting insulin is a necessary pain. Without it our cells simply starve to death regardless of how much we eat. The insulin is the “key” to unlocking the “cell door” to let the glucose in so that the mitochondria can create energy for us to stay alive. Insulin moves the glucose through the cell walls. Without insulin, glucose doesn’t get through. The cells starve to death, no matter how much we eat. That’s it in a nutshell.
For our feet, they are the extreme end to our body. When we inject insulin, it must work its way to them. Unfortunately it gets used up before it gets there.
The reason is simple. The biggest, thickest, most energy demanding parts of the body: your hips and legs get the insulin first.
JUST CHANGING YOUR INJECTION SITE CAN KEEP THEM FROM GETTING AMPUTATED!
Start injecting into the foot area.
When I first realized that my feet weren’t getting enough insulin I started injecting right at the toe area. Flex my toes and injected under the skin.
Why? Now the feet get the insulin first.
Sometimes you can’t take your shoes off. My second choice is the ankle. Flex the foot and inject around the top of it.
Sometimes even this area is not as assessable as we’d like. At those times my injection site is below and to the side of the knee. Or any area below the knee as long it is in a fatty area and
NOT directly into a muscle or artery.
The objective is to give your feet the best possible opportunity to get all of the insulin it needs to keep its cells from starving to death. By having your injection site at least below the knee, your feet will get more of the insulin. If your feet are seriously damaged like mine were,
TRY TO ALWAYS INJECT DIRECTLY INTO THE FEET UNTIL THEY HAVE HEALED. This may be inconvenient. But it beats amputation. After they heal you can experiment on choices.
Even though my feet have long since healed, I still do this. I don’t want to take any chances.
I take R and N. My insulin dosage for R is 15 units per meal (it had been as high as 35 units per meal). So I inject 5 units in each foot or ankle. And 5 units in my abdomen area. All of us have different insulin requirements. So it would be unreasonable to try and tell you how much insulin should inject into each foot.. May I suggest 25% of your dosage in each foot. And 50% in the upper body. However much you put, in by injecting directly in the feet you guaranty they get their fair share.
It’s been 19 months since I switched injection sites. All “dead feeling” swelling, discoloration, infections, callusing, increased numbness has gone. There has been slight foot pain periodically that disappeared. The nerves appear to be much better. I still have a small amount of button size numbness under my right big toe just at where it flexes. But it continues to get better, although slowly.
I hope this info helps you get better. That you will enjoy a happier, healthier life because of it. Check in every now and then for updates.

One thought on “where do you inject your insulin makes all the difference.

  1. I say thank you for your blog and this information that is very helpful to me right now. I am a diabetic with an infected toe and have been struggling with the decision to inject my insulin close to the problem, but afraid it might make matters worse. I feel much better now. Thank you Zena.

Leave a Reply

